terewsblog.blogg.se

Iomega mhndhd drive failure
Iomega mhndhd drive failure





  1. IOMEGA MHNDHD DRIVE FAILURE UPDATE
  2. IOMEGA MHNDHD DRIVE FAILURE UPGRADE

Visit the Dashboard on the management interface for details. A drive may have either failed or been removed from your Iomega StorCenter device. “The Iomega StorCenter device is degraded and data protection is at risk. Hi, I’m a happy ix4-200d owner who had his first disk failure this morning.

IOMEGA MHNDHD DRIVE FAILURE UPDATE

If I do update – it’ll be a ix2-dl blank enclosure with 2 WD Red 2TB drives. As it’s Christmas I looked for a sale… Well it seems the ix-200’s are discontinued?! The replacement is known as the ix2 (confused yet) or more specifically the ix2-dl. I set my office up with 2 1x-200’s (1TB) that connect over VPN and I was considering moving up to those. Which is not a big deal – it’s just that most desktop PC’s come with 250GB drives and 500GB of RAID 1 storage doesn’t seem like as much (sliding into 2013). The fan has been fine, and my port re-write script still works great. This did however cause me to re-evaluate my NAS options. It came back up fine and reported no issues with the old Seagate drive and the newer WD Green that’s in there. This occasionally happens and I had to do a hard reset. I could ping it, but no response to http or ssh. Just yesterday my ix2 froze up while trying to print.

IOMEGA MHNDHD DRIVE FAILURE UPGRADE

If I didn’t need this data immediately I might have experimented with bigger drives, but I think I’ll upgrade to the ix4 before I ever try to upgrade the capacity of this little guy. Did the Iomega ix2 do its job and kept my data safe? Absolutely! Am I pissed that this drive failed in 3 years? Sure. No linux commands, no format, no partition, no RAID – just replaced the dead drive with a new one of the same size and we’re back in business. The new drive rebuilt and I got a steady blue light on my ix2 when I checked later the next day. ( Of course I bought the ix2 without knowing it comes with 2 of them 🙂 )Īfter closing up the drive I powered the NAS up and watched the magic. I’ve been a computer tech for over ten years. I know that people have hardware preferences out there, and I know they differ, but here’s mine: I don’t buy Seagate drives. I took the ix2 apart AGAIN, and removed the barely 3 year old Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 out of the device. The Green drives are quieter, a little slower, and use less power – great for this application. Later that afternoon I picked up a 500GB WD Caviar Green from BB for $56. 😐 Well, at least my email script still works. To prevent possible data loss, this issue should be repaired as soon as possible.Īwesome. The Iomega StorCenter device is degraded and data protection is at risk. The next morning I checked my email and received this from sohostoarge: When I returned, the missing drive was back online and was crisis averted? Nope.

iomega mhndhd drive failure

Okay – time to get dinner and wait for this to finish. A few minutes later I ran the command and got something like 33.8% with 132 minutes remaining. At first I saw that the drive was rebuilding and was at 32.4% with 109 minutes remaining. Connect via SSH and run this command: cat /proc/mdstat You’ll get actual information about what’s going on. “You respond to a ping, but that’s it.” No web interface… Well, let’s see what’s really going on.

iomega mhndhd drive failure

What I next learned was that I have little patience for blinking lights. In order to see that it was a drive that had failed and not the board, I swapped the SATA cables for the two drives, tightened it all up and turned it back on. Once copied, I completely shutdown the Storcenter, opened it and checked the connections.

iomega mhndhd drive failure

I immediately made a backup to my workstation. I logged into my Iomega Storcenter ix2 and the dashboard told me the news: “A drive is missing from the device” I was copying pictures to my network drive and I noticed that it was responding slowly.







Iomega mhndhd drive failure